Cognitive Dissonance

In the field of psychology, cognitive dissonance is the mental discomfort (psychological stress) experienced by a person who simultaneously holds two or more contradictory beliefsideas, or values.

Every time I move I have this quote stuck in my head, “The man who views the world at 50 the same as he did at 20 has wasted 30 years of his life.” — Muhammad Ali — I do not want to look back after years of travel, friendship, love, and adventure and have the same view of the world that I have now. One of the easiest ways to change this is to form a new habit. The toughest way is by finding subjects that make me uncomfortable, finding out why, and getting over them.

As a Millennial I pride myself on my open mindedness.

Fuck, writing this is hard. Here I go!

For years I have prided myself as a Feminist. One of my focal points of this is body hair. There is so much attention paid towards female body hair, and I support whatever women want to do with it. That being said, armpit hair makes me uncomfortable. Like cringe worthy, and it PISSES ME OFF! My brain has been trained to cringe at the though of hair just because it grows underneath my arm. This is just one example of Cognitive Dissonance that I am battling in my mind.

 

What I am trying to say, is that even writing this is difficult. The cognitive dissonance I have about this subject makes writing about it hard, and this is one of my best ways of communicating!

So here’s what I am getting at, find the stuff that makes you uncomfortable, and I am not talking about cliff jumping, I’m talking about rules you have for yourself you might not realize you have. When somebody brings up an idea and it makes you so uncomfortable you do not even want to talk about it. Shit that makes you cringe on the inside! That shit needs to go!! Who wants to look back on their life and realize they have the same viewpoint and mindset as when they were sixteen?

Leave a Reply

